10 Facts You May Not Know About The National Hunt Racing In The UK

Most people are familiar with the most common type of racing, in which horses run around a track as fast as they can and try to beat their opponents. But there is another type of racing that adds a different level of challenge with obstacles in their path: National Hunt Racing. This requires horses to jump over various heights of fences and hedges, and there are many different types of these races. If you want to find out more fascinating facts about National Hunt Racing, then read on.

1. National Hunt Racing is divided into Hurdles and Steeplechases

Hurdles and Steeplechases

Hurdles are races where horses jump over obstacles that are over three and a half feet high. The hurdles are made of brush, so they are flexible, and there are a minimum of eight of them on the whole course.

The course itself has a minimum distance of two miles. Steeplechases have jumps which are diverse, and include water jumps. This comes from the origin of the race, which was to run from one church steeple to another, traversing all the obstacles on the land.

2. The biggest National Hunt Race in the UK are considered to be The Grand National and the Cheltenham Gold Cup

The Grand National is popular throughout the UK, even with people who generally take little or no interest in horse racing! The National is just over four miles long, and features some really big fences, bigger than any others found on conventional National Hunt races. This race is becoming increasingly controversial due to the number of horses who lose their lives running it.

The Cheltenham festival features several different races over a few days, the most famous of which is the Gold Cup which is run over three miles, and has 22 jumps to test the skills of horse and rider.

3. Most of the National Hunt Races take place in the winter

This is because the ground is softer at this time of year, making it easier and safer for the horses to jump these imposingly large fences.

4. National Hunt Racing originated in Ireland

National Hunt Racing originated in Ireland

The Irish have always been famed for their horse races, and remain a strong and notable force in today’s races. The first ever winner of the Grand National, held at Aintree in the UK, was an Irish horse named Lottery, and following on that tradition Irish horses won the three main prizes at Cheltenham and the Grand National in both 2005 and 2006.

5. The first recorded race took place in 1752

The first steeplechase was run in County Cork in 1752, between the towns of Buttevant and Doneraile, and it set the standard for the steeplechase as we know it today. Two horses were traditionally used, and the races were known as “pounding races”! The type of obstacles used in steeplechasing come from these origins, as the horses were expected to just jump over whatever was in their path.

6. The National Hunt Committee was formed in the 1860s

This saved the sport from falling into decline, as it was in danger of doing, because there was no way of regulating the races. National Hunt races were initially thought to be a “poor relation” of flat racing, but the committee managed to bring some much needed organisation and regulation, thus allowing it to flourish into the institution it is today.

7. Sponsorship began in 1957

With the advent of sponsors, a whole lot more races began to be added to the National Hunt calendar, although many of these are geared towards betting turnover by competitive handicaps that attract large numbers of runners.

8. There are three different types of race

These are:

  • The Chase: Run over 2 to 4 1/2 miles, over fences that are a minimum of 4 1/2 feet high.
  • Hurdling: Run over a distance of 2 to 3 1/2 miles, over hurdles that are a minimum of 3 1/2 feet high.
  • NH Flat Races: Run over a distance of 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 miles, and are flat races with no obstacles. Often called “bumper” races, these are for horses that have not yet competed in flat or obstacle races.

9. Races are graded

The grades run from Grade 1 to Grade 3, then Listed, Handicaps and Bumpers. Bumpers is the least prestigious, as it is for untried horses. In flat racing the grades go Group 1, 2, 3, then Listed. National Hunt races are grouped into Classes, from 1 to 7, with 1 being the best.

10. Hunter chases and point to point races are also National Hunt races

Hunter chases are only open to horses who have hunter certificates – these are issued to horses who have hunted for at least four days in the season before the January racing season starts.

The jockey must be an amateur who has obtained a certificate from the hunt secretary. Point to Point racing is basically steeplechasing for amateurs and untried horses, and many will compete in these races before moving on to the bigger National Hunt races.

Final Words

Point to Point racing

There are a lot of people out there who make a great deal of money from horse racing. There are the owners, trainers and jockeys, of course, but also for those willing to take the time to study form, various types of track and race styles, and keep an eye on the up and coming stars, horse racing can be a very lucrative thing.

If you are interested in horse racing there is a wealth of information out there on the various different types, and if you just fancy a weekend flutter then why not place your bets on some interesting National Hunt racing rising star? It may provide you with some useful pocket money – and if not, it’s still a great day out!

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions
1. What Makes A Good National Hunt Horse?

First and foremost, a good National Hunt horse has to be able to jump well. They must also be hardy, and well able to cope with the rigors of the long, arduous racecourse. These horses must also have stamina and heart, and the competitive nature that makes a true winner.

2. What Makes A Good National Hunt Horse?

In order to get through this heavy race, horses must have a brave, bold temperament – but it is ideal that they not be too “hot” and spirited, because these are some really big jumps! Most National Hunt horses are geldings while many flat racers are left entire – this is to suit the different types of race style.

3. What Happens To Racehorses If They Don’t Win?

Many racehorses live happily ever after, to retire covered in glory after a lifetime of wins. Those that don’t can end up in rescue homes, or be retrained, or used in a breeding program. Many thousands of others are sadly sent for slaughter, however – around 13,000 ex racehorses every year are destroyed.

4. What Happens To Racehorses If They Don’t Win?

In general, National Hunt horses can continue racing into their teens, unlike flat racers who very rarely race after they are 8 years old. Jump racers tend to start their career much later too – the extra training required means many of them don’t begin racing until they are around 4.

5. How Much Does A National Hunt Jockey Get Paid Per Ride?

Although prize funds vary, and a jockey will win more the higher they are placed, as a general rule the jockey will receive around 11% of the win prize and 3.5% of the place prize. There is also a booking fee for taking part in the race, and 50% of this will be refunded for any non-runner.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Horses & Foals

6022 S Drexel Ave
Chicago, IL 60637

Amazon Disclaimer

Horses & Foals is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.


Horses & Foals do not intend to provide veterinary advice. We try to help users better understand their horses; however, the content on this blog is not a substitute for veterinary guidance. For more information, please read our PRIVACY POLICY.